Association des Parents d'Elèves du Conservatoire de musique agréé et de danse de Châlons en Champagne

Welcome to the Virtual Fields Method Website !

News - 22nd December 2014

3 year post-doctoral Fellowship position available

Two PhD positions available (UK/EU student only)

New DIC/VFM integrated software - December 2014

Prof. F. Pierron receives a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit award, May 2012

This scheme is for outstanding scientists who would benefit from a five year salary enhancement to help recruit them to or retain them in the UK. The announcement can be consulted on the Royal Society website

Prof. F. Pierron moves to the University of Southampton

May 1st 2012: Prof. F. Pierron is now Chair of Solid Mechanics at the University of Southampton, UK.

VFM book now available

The book entitled: The Virtual Fields Methods, by F. Pierron and M. Grédiac (Springer New-York) is now available on Springer's website

VFM book


A new version of camfit is now available (v 1.4, January 2011). It is now an executable Matlab program which makes the running easier and independent of packages and versions. The software is released under the GNU public license. Please check the "Download Camfit" page.

Recent training sessions

Invited keynote / plenary lectures at conferences

  • MPSVA conference, 29-31 August 2012 in Glasgow, UK. Title: A novel photomechanical approach to dynamic testing of materials
  • ISEM'12 conference, 8-11 November 2012 in Taipei, Taiwan. Title: Spatial mapping of the elasto-plastic behaviour of welds using full-field measurements and the Virtual Fields Method

Recent seminars

  • University of Wisconsin (Madison, WI, USA), 20 August 2013 (Prof. Wendy Crone)
  • Forestry Products Laboratory (Madison, WI, USA), 20 August 2013 (Dr John Considine)
  • Polytechnique Montréal (Canada), 27 March 2013 (Prof. Martin Lévesque)
  • University of Sherbrooke (Canada), 26 March 2013 (Prof. Alain Berry)
  • University of Bristol (UK), 12 March 2013 (Prof. Michael Wisnom)
  • Cardiff University (UK), 30 January 2013 (Prof. Stéphane Bordas)
  • TWI (Cambridge, UK), 12 February 2013 (Dr Marcus Warwick)
  • CalTech (USA), 8 June 2012 (Prof. G. Ravichandran)
  • Sandia National Laboratories (USA), 6 June 2012 (Dr Phillip Reu / Dr Sharlotte Kramer)
  • Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge (UK), 24 May 2012 (Dr Stephen Walley)
  • Beijing University of Technology (China), 21 October 2011 (Prof. Pengwan Chen, Shock Physics/Chemistry group)
  • Tsinghua University (China), 21 October 2011 (Prof. Huimin Xie)
  • University of Bath(UK), 7 April 2011 (Dr Richard Butler)
  • University of Southampton(UK), 1 April 2011 (Prof. Janice Barton)
  • Ecole Centrale de Nantes (FR), 10 March 2011 (Prof. Arnaud Poitou / Dr Ramzi Othman)
  • Aalborg University (DK), January 2011 (Prof. Ole Thybo Thomsen)
  • University of Oxford (UK), May 2010 (Dr Clive Siviour)
  • University of Exeter (UK), March 2010 (Dr Chris Smith)
  • University of South Carolina (USA), February 2010 (Prof. Mike Sutton)
  • University of Texas at Arlington (USA), February 2010 (Prof. Erian Armanios)

This website has has a better appearance with Mozilla Firefox. If you are using another browser, please consider downloading it on Firefox 3.6.
Contact the webmaster. Last update : 5 August 2014.
Copyright © Fabrice PIERRON, August 2007. Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict